Written by admin on Monday, March 12th, 2018

Selected by Olivier Immig & Jan van Heugten

Opposition candidates Sanjrani, Mandviwalla win Senate top slots
SOURCE: The Express Tribune
Monday, March 12, 2018

ISLAMABAD: Opposition-backed Sadiq Sanjrani on Monday bagged a lion’s share of votes to be elected Senate chairman while Saleem Mandviwalla became deputy chairman of the House.

Sanjrani secured 57 votes while Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Raja Zafarul Haq received 46 votes.

Similarly, Mandviwalla secured 54 votes against Usman Kakar’s 44.

Both the chairman and the deputy chairman have been sworn in of their new responsibilities.

According to reports, immediately after Sanjrani’s election, PTI MNA Hamidul Haq and a PML-N supporter were seen involved in a scuffle in the guests lobby.

The PML-N supporter was later escorted outside of the premises.

Sadiq Sanjrani from Chaghi in Balochistan was nominated by Chief Minister Abdul Quddus Bijenzo for the Senate top slot. His candidature was backed by the PPP and the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI).

Born on April 14, 1978 in Balochistan’s Nok Kundi town, Sanjrani obtained his early education from Chaghi and later received a bachelor’s degree from the University of Balochistan.

Throughout his career, Sanjrani has served many positions including coordinator complaint cell of Prime Minister’s secretariat and member of observatory commission of prime minister in 2009 and was appointed as chief coordinator of PM complaint cell and adviser in 2009. The PPP, PTI and the Balochistan CM reached a consensus on this account after rounds of talks.

Newly-elected Senate Deputy Chairman Saleem Mandviwalla

Born on January 25, 1959, Mandiwalla graduated from Fort Worth School of Aviation in 1981. He has served as president of the Board of Investment and minister of state for investment. He held the portfolio from October 2008 till May 2013.

Prior to his appointment as minister, he was the president of the Lasbela Chamber of Commerce and Industry. He was appointed finance minister on February 19, 2013.

Mandviwalla was unanimously elected Senate Standing Committee on Finance, Revenue, Economic Affairs, Statistics and Privatization chairman.

The PTI did not objected to his candidature after being wooed by the PPP.

Newly-elected senators take oath

Earlier in the day, newly-elected members of the upper house of parliament reached the upper house of the parliament to take oath as senators.

Presiding officer and PML-N leader Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan Nasir administered oath of 52 senators including Dr Asad Ashraf of PML-N, who replaced Nehal Hashmi. The only newly-elected senator missing from the ceremony was former finance minister Ishaq Dar.

MQM-P, FATA announce alliance with Opposition’s Sadiq Sanjrani
The Senate comprises 66 general seats, 17 women, 17 technocrat and four minorities seats. Of these 104 seats, each province has 23 seats, including 14 general seats, four women seats, four technocrat seats and a non-Muslim seat.

The Federally Administered Tribal Areas (Fata) has all eight general seats in the Senate while Islamabad has four seats, including two general seats, a women seat and a technocrat seat.


Leave a Comment

« | Home | »